Home English - Eawag

Reinventing the toilet

November 19, 2019 – It's World Toilet Day today. What may sound curious is intended to draw attention to a serious problem. Because worldwide, one in three people lack access to ...

News

November 18, 2019

ETH Zurich has awarded Stefan Achermann the Otto Jaag Water Protection Prize for his dissertation entitled "Exploring linkages between micropollutant biotransformation reactions and microbial community characteristics in activated sludge". This prize is awarded to outstanding dissertations and master theses at ETH Zurich in the field of water protection and hydrology. In his work, Stefan Achermann combined chemical-analytical and molecular-biological methods to investigate the degradation pathways of micropollutants in wastewater treatment plants.

Read more
November 13, 2019

There may be hundreds of species of char living in Greenland’s lakes and rivers, according to a team from the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag) and the University of Bern, that has discovered the largest known diversity of char species in the catchment area of the Eqaluit River.

Read more
November 4, 2019

The measurement of trace concentrations of pyrethroid and organophosphate insecticides – now possible thanks to a newly developed analytical method – shows that these compounds can pose a greater threat to aquatic organisms than all other pesticides.

Read more

Home Français - Eawag

La réinvention du petit coin

19 novembre 2019 – C'est la Journée mondiale des toilettes aujourd'hui. Ce qui peut paraître curieux vise à attirer l'attention sur un problème sérieux. Parce-que dans le monde, une personne ...

News

18 novembre 2019

L’EPF Zurich a décerné à Stefan Achermann le prix Otto Jaag pour la protection des eaux pour sa thèse intitulée «Exploring linkages between micropollutant biotransformation reactions and microbial community characteristics in activated sludge». Ce prix récompense des thèses de doctorat et travaux de master de l’EPF Zurich dans le domaine de la protection des eaux et des sciences aquatiques. Dans sa thèse, Stefan Achermann a combiné des méthodes de chimie analytique à des techniques de biologie moléculaire afin d’étudier les réactions de décomposition des micropolluants dans des stations d’épuration.

En savoir plus
13 novembre 2019

Dans les lacs et les rivières du Groenland vivent sans doute des centaines d’espèce d’ombles chevaliers. C’est ce que présume une équipe de l’Institut de Recherche de l’Eau de l’Eawag et de l’université de Berne, qui a découvert dans le bassin versant du fleuve Equalit la plus grande diversité d’espèces d’ombles chevaliers lacustres connue à ce jour.

En savoir plus
4 novembre 2019

Les analyses, qui permettent depuis peu de mesurer les pyréthrinoïdes et les organophosphorés à très faible concentration, montrent que le risque émanant de ces insecticides pour les organismes aquatiques peut surpasser celui dû à tous les autres produits phytosanitaires.

En savoir plus