News archive

Failed to load

National Council's Environmental Committee at Eawag
August 27, 2015

On Tuesday 25 August 2015, the National Council's Committee for the Environment, Spatial Planning and Energy (CESPE) forsook its usual meeting room in Bern to pay a visit to Eawag. Read more

Eawag Director Janet Hering receives the Award from IUPAC President Mark Cesa and Vice President Natalja Tarasova (Photo: Leo Merz/SCNAT)
August 21, 2015

Prof. Janet Hering, Director of Eawag, received the «Distinguished Women in Chemistry 2015 Award» during the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) world chemistry Congress taking place last week in Busan, Korea. Read more

Christine Weber and Britta Allgöver explain passers-by the fish migration
August 13, 2015

The Swiss Academy of Sciences, together with ca. 150 organizations in 12 Swiss cities, is presenting a variety of insights into the world of the natural sciences in the tour “Research live”. Read more

Harvey M. Rosen Memorial Award for Lisa Salhi and Urs von Gunten
July 9, 2015

Elisabeth Salhi and Urs von Gunten from the department of Water Resources and Drinking Water received the Harvey M. Rosen Memorial Award for their publication "Process Control for Ozonation Systems: A Novel Real-Time Approach" in the journal Ozone: Science & Engineering. Read more

Catherine Wagner awarded the Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize
June 30, 2015

The Society for the Study of Evolution has awarded the Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize to Catherine Wagner, from the Department of Fish Ecology and Evolution. Read more

May 22, 2015

At its meeting on 20 and 21 May  2015, the ETH Board appointed Eawag-scientist Professor Martin Ackermann as Full Professor of Molecular Microbial Ecology. At Eawag, Martin Ackermann is head of department Environmental Microbiology. Read more

May 22, 2015

At the proposal of the Director of Eawag, Prof. Janet Hering, the ETH Board has appointed Dr  Christian Zurbrügg (*1962) as a new member of the Directorate. As of 1 August 2015 Christian Zurbrügg will succeed Prof. Peter Reichert, who is stepping down at the end of July 2015. Read more

Major Commendation for Urs von Gunten
April 9, 2015

The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) has honoured Urs von Gunten, from the Water Resources and Drinking Water department, with a professorship as part of the President’s International Fellowship for Distinguished Scientists initiative. Read more

Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard, Eawag Director Janet Hering and Swiss Consul General in Capetown, Bernadette Hunkeler Brown (from left).
February 13, 2015

From 2 to 5 February a Swiss delegation with Eawag Director Janet Hering was four days on the road with Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard in South Africa. The working visit was focussed on energy and climate policy. Five questions to Janet Hering after her return.  Read more

February 6, 2015

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 67 new members and 12 foreign members, announced NAE President Dan Mote Jr. Thursday, February 5th. Read more