The latest news from Eawag

Urs von Gunten has always combined research with practice. (© Alain Herzog / 2024 EPFL)
Urs von Gunten, the unsung hero of water treatment
February 16, 2024

For a scientist who’s won numerous international honors for his research, Urs von Gunten, a professor at EPFL and the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology (Eawag), is disarmingly modest. Urs von Gunten will retire in one year: Time to look back at his career.

Eawag Director Martin Ackermann and Empa Director Tanja Zimmermann (Photo: Marion Nitsch, Empa)
The CO2-binding society as a goal
January 22, 2024

Empa Director Tanja Zimmermann and Eawag Director Martin Ackermann want to provide answers to the current climate crisis with new initiatives and ambitious goals.

Eawag researchers Christa McArdell and Marc Böhler explain how ozone removes micropollutants in wastewater. (Photo: Eawag, Claudia Carle)
Eawag presents one of its success stories on the ...
January 18, 2024

To coincide with the World Economic Forum (WEF) in Davos, the ETH Domain invited 50 dignitaries from the political, research and business spheres, to Davos and presented highlights from its current research. Eawag demonstrated how its work has successfully paved the way for advanced wastewater treatment.

Ozone is blown into the treated wastewater through these diffusers (WWTP Neugut, Dübendorf; photo: Max Schachtler) .
Swiss approach to modern wastewater treatment is ...
December 1, 2023

A team of seven current and former Eawag researchers will receive the Swiss Chemical Society’s Sandmeyer Prize in 2024 for the development of advanced wastewater treatment for the degradation of micropollutants using ozone. And the most amazing thing is: Just about 15 years have passed between basic research and large-scale technical implementation. This incredible timetable was only possible thanks to the wealth of knowledge already available at Eawag and the fact that interdisciplinary collaboration is a matter of course at the Swiss aquatic research institute.

Tove Larsen (Photo: Peter Penicka, Eawag)
“I simply saw no alternative”
November 22, 2023

Chemical engineer Tove Larsen made an impact at Eawag over the course of 24 years. Besides being the first woman to hold a managerial position at Eawag in the field of urban water management, she was also initiator and head of the Novaquatis cross-cutting project, group leader and member of the Eawag Directorate. Her areas of responsibility have included urine source separation, the Blue Diversion toilet, the Water Hub and Wings.

ETH Rector Günther Dissertori presents Charlotte Bopp with the Otto Jaag Water Protection Prize 2023 (Photo: ETH, Giulia Marthaler)
Otto Jaag Water Protection Prize 2023 and ETH Medal for ...
November 21, 2023

On ETH Day, Charlotte Bopp was honoured with the Otto Jaag Water Protection Prize for her dissertation. In January, she will also receive the ETH Medal for her work.

Bernhard Truffer among the most cited scientists 2023 (Photo: Eawag)
Bernhard Truffer among the most cited scientists 2023
November 15, 2023

Professor Bernhard Truffer of the Eawag Water Research Institute is among the "highly cited researchers 2023".

For 30 years, Prof. Dr Rik Eggen has been committed to Eawag, its employees and water research, first as a researcher, then as head of department, later as a member of the Directorate and from 2007 to the beginning of 2023 as Deputy Director (Photo: Peter Penicka).
Rik Eggen: “I want to dive into a new life”
November 13, 2023

Professor Dr Rik Eggen worked at the aquatic research institute Eawag for three decades, including 16 years as deputy director. Now he is entering retirement.