News Detail

Janet Hering to receive 2018 NWRI Clarke Prize (Photo: ETH)

Janet Hering to receive 2018 NWRI Clarke Prize

May 17, 2018,

The National Water Research Institute (NWRI) awarded Eawag director Janet Hering with the 2018 NWRI Clarke Prize for outstanding achievement in water science and technology and to honoring her contributions to the safety of drinking water. Janet Hering will receive the Clarke Prize on October 26, 2018, at the Twenty-Fifth Annual NWRI Clarke Prize Award Ceremony in Orange County, California.

The National Water Research Institute (NWRI) presents the prize – which consists of a medallion and $50,000 award – annually to recognize research accomplishments that solve real-world water problems and to highlight the need to expand funding for research that addresses water supply challenges. Established in 1993 in honor of NWRI’s co-founder, the late Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke, the Clarke Prize is among the world’s most prestigious awards for advancement in water research and technology.

 “Dr. Hering’s portfolio of water quality research combined with her persuasive advocacy for inter-disciplinary knowledge transfer have served to enhance water resources sustainability and resiliency worldwide,” said Kevin M. Hardy, J.D., Executive Director of NWRI.  “As our twenty-fifth award recipient, Janet joins an elite cohort comprised of the world’s most influential water research professionals.”

“I am deeply honored to receive the NWRI Clarke Prize on its twenty-fifth anniversary,” said Janet Hering.  “I am grateful to all my former mentors, colleagues, and the research group members who contributed to my research and supported my career.  The Clarke Prize provides unparalleled visibility for the research themes of its recipients — in my case, trace elements in the water cycle and, more recently, knowledge exchange at the interface of water science with policy and practice.  I am very thankful for this recognition.” Janet Hering will present the 2018 Clarke Prize Lecture during the Award Ceremony on October 26, 2018.  

Created by NWRI, Stephanie Engeli