Home English - Eawag

Important species interactions can destabilize aquatic ecosystems in response to nutrient inputs

October 16, 2019 – In aquatic ecosystems, both mussels and macrophytes increase water clarity and generally help to prevent excessive algal growth. However, according to a study carried ...

News

October 8, 2019

Daphnia can adapt rapidly to changing environmental conditions. This was shown by a study carried out by scientists from Eawag and Cornell University in Oneida Lake (NY, US). This adaptation influences daphnia population density, thus affecting the entire lake food web.

Read more
October 4, 2019

Besides research and consultancy, teaching is the third major aspect of Eawag’s work. Around 140 master’s students are supervised every year at the Institute, some of whom are directly involved in research projects. This integration of teaching and learning, along with the flat hierarchies and Eawag’s interdisciplinary culture together create a unique environment that is greatly valued by students and supervisors alike, and which results again and again in outstanding master’s dissertations.

Read more
October 2, 2019

Rapid changes in the genome of two closely interlinked species cannot be explained only by processes such as evolutionary pressure. Equally important is the role played by ecological processes, for example the dynamics of population size. This has been shown for the first time experimentally by an international team of researchers under the direction of Eawag and the University of Konstanz with an alga and a virus. The study will be published today in the magazine Science Advances.

Read more

Home Français - Eawag

Comment les écosystèmes réagissent-ils aux apports excessifs de nutriments ?

16 octobre 2019 – Dans les écosystèmes aquatiques, les mollusques et les plantes aquatiques filtrent et épurent l'eau, si bien que le développement algal reste habituellement modéré.

News

8 octobre 2019

Les daphnies ont la capacité de s'adapter très rapidement aux variations de leur environnement. C'est ce qu'ont montré des biologistes de l'Eawag et de l'université Cornell dans une étude menée dans le lac Oneida, aux États-Unis. Les adaptations ont un effet sur la densité de population des daphnies et donc sur l'ensemble du réseau trophique du lac. En savoir plus

4 octobre 2019

Outre la recherche et le conseil, l’enseignement est l’un des trois piliers de l’Eawag. Chaque année, environ 140 étudiants de master sont pris en charge à l’Institut et pour certains directement impliqués dans des projets de recherche. Cette intégration, les hiérarchies horizontales ainsi que la culture interdisciplinaire de l’Eawag constituent un environnement unique très apprécié par les étudiants et les tuteurs, qui mène à d’excellentes réussites aux masters. En savoir plus

2 octobre 2019

Les modifications rapides intervenant dans le génome de deux espèces étroitement liées ne peuvent être expliquées uniquement par des processus évolutifs tels que la pression sélective. Les processus écologiques, comme la dynamique de la taille des populations, jouent à cet égard un rôle tout aussi important. Une équipe internationale de chercheurs placée sous la houlette de l’Eawag et de l’université de Constance en a fait la démonstration expérimentale pour la première fois avec une algue et un virus.  L’étude a été publiée ce jour dans la revue Science Advances. En savoir plus